Iris Marion Young Award Winners Will Be Honored Nov. 17

This year's Iris Marion Young Awards for Political Engagement will be presented at a ceremony on Thurs., Nov. 17, 5:30, in Alumni Hall 121 (to be followed by a reception), and the public is welcome. These awards, co-sponsored by GSPIA and GSWS, honor members of the Pitt community who at Pitt or beyond work in special ways to promote justice. In addition to the winners' making individual remarks, they will talk together in a roundtable discussion about activism today with Dr. Sabina Deitrick (GSPIA).

This year's amazing honorees are

Carrie Benson - Staff Award - for her above-and-beyond work in Pitt's Office of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion, including her roles in sexual violence prevention and the Transgender Working Group.



Courtney Colligan - Graduate Student Award - for her work on behalf of people in recovery and incarcerated people, her participation in the CourtWatch Program, and her role as co-founder of the Archive Theatre Project.



Greer Donley - co-winner of Faculty Award - for her work on behalf of reproductive rights, from educating the public about their vulnerabilities and potential protections to contributing to the development of the abortion-shield law in the US.



Müge Kökten Finkel - co-winner of Faculty Award - for her work convening the Gender Equality in Public Administration group and co-directing the Gender Inequality Research Lab (GIRL) and her participation in the Women and Girls Foundation, the Global Switchboard, and Open Field.


Yasmeen Gauri - Undergraduate Student Award - for her work co-directing Pitt's chapter of Strong Women Strong Girls and leading its outreach efforts, which has involved also promoting LGBTQ+ sex education in the Pittsburgh schools, and for her participation in research and clinical support for vulnerable populations in the US and Guatemala.


Read more about the winners here and join the celebration if you can!

The event will be live-streamed as a webinar at